The Only Way to Travel


On my recent holiday, every time we docked people rushed to take photos. Not of me but of the beautiful private yacht run by Magna Carta Steamships, Lord of the Glens. I was on a Highlands and Islands cruise with Ace Tours taking in history and wildlife from Kyle of Lochalsh, Mull, Rum, Iona, Fort Augustus, Loch Ness to Inverness. I had no idea my native country was so beautiful and I am bereft now that I have left the mountains behind. The ship went at just the right pace – that of a strathspey. The sun shone every day and the water sparkled and rippled. We dined every night looking out on to stunning scenery and ate beautifully presented delicious food. I met so many interesting, entertaining and happy people. On the last night Mum and I were invited to sit at the Captain’s table and we had a blast. On the last day I threatened to tie myself to the mast.

One thought on “The Only Way to Travel

Leave a Reply

